A WALK IN MADRID PART I

Hello my lovely readers πŸ™‚ How’s everything going?

I’ve spend the last three days in Madrid. Today I want to share with you some of the pictures I took when I went for a walk around Madrid. During this walk, I visited the most touristic places in Madrid. So wear your most confortable shoes and come with me for a walk.

11

Our first stop in this beautiful walk is the Royal Palace. This palace was built in the 18th century and the legend says that the tongue of the Architect was cut so he couldn’t build any palace as great as this one. This is one of my favourite places in Madrid. I’m sorry the pictures aren’t great, but it was a quite gloomy day.

0

2

3

1

To be honest you can merely see the palace in this picture, but I really like the way I look hahaha

4

Next to the Royal Palace is the Almudena cathedral. This gorgeous cathedral was started to be built at the end of the 19th century and it has a Gothic revival style.  This is the cathedral were the king and queen of Spain got married.

6

Then if you walk for less than five minutes you get to the “Plaza Mayor” (main square). It was built at the beginning of the 17th century. I love the square because it’s colourful, specially this painted faΓ§ade. Next to this square you will find lots of bars that sell fried squid sandwiches. They are delicious and it’s one of the most typical foods in Madrid.

7

8

9

If you walk for five more minutes you can getnto the “Puerta del Sol“. This is one of the best known and busiest places in the city.  This square contains the famous clock whose bells mark the traditional eating of the twelve grapes and the beginning of a new year. It also is the centre of the radial network of Spanish roads.

10

Then I’m going to tell you a secret that most tourists don’t know. There is a famous department store called “El Corte Ingles”, which has many department stores all over Madrid. Next to the “Puerta del Sol” there is one called El Corte Ingles of Callao. If you go to the last floor you can see beautiful views of Madrid.  In this picture you can see the Almudena cathedral on the left, the Royal Palace on the right and the Royal Theater in the middle.

11

In the next post I’ll pick it up from here and I’ll show you the rest of my walk.

Have you ever been to Madrid? Are you planning to go?

xoxo Darly

OTHER PLACES WHERE YOU CAN FOLLOW ME

INSTAGRAM

TWITTER

BLOGLOVINβ€˜

FACEBOOK

 

73 thoughts on “A WALK IN MADRID PART I

  1. Beautiful city. Been there many times. Nearly got wiped out by a crazy woman driving onto the motorway without looking 😨 and got pretty awful service in a restaurant at lunchtime one day. 😩Apart from that very happy memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always wanted to visit Barcelona, everyone who has been there has fallen in love with the city. And your pictures are lovely – typical winter weather πŸ™‚
    I actually like them more than those glossy holiday brochures.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looking forward to your next post! i was wondering how you post a blog on your home page then its state continue reading…. (how do u put this part)??? cos my blog is too long i don’t know how to put the continue reading caption =)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: 3 Sixty Five Blog

Leave a Reply

