DIY watermelon nails

Hello my lovely readers πŸ™‚

Today I wanted to share with you a nail art I’ve been loving this Summer and it’s super easy to recreate. I’m going to use the same technique as I used in my previous nail art post. The trick is using sellotape.

image

For this nail art tutorial I’m going to use white, red, black and green nail polish but as you can see in the first picture you can combine different colours as you want.
IMGP0411

The first step is to paint the whole nail in one colour, this time I’ve chosen white. You must be very let it dry completely before doing the next step.

IMGP0403ret

NowΒ you cut two pieces of sellotape which are a bit bigger than the size of your nail. You put them on your nail trying to create a triangular shape. You must be careful and really stick the edges of the sellotape to your nails so when we remove the sellotape the lines of the triangle are very defined.

IMGP0404

Now you paint that triangle you’ve created with the red nail polish, it doesn’t matter if you go out of the line because when we remove the sellotape it’s going to look perfect.

IMGP0405

When it’s completely driedΒ you add a green line at the bottom of the triangle to simulate the green part of the watermelon and three black stripes to emulate the seeds.
IMGP0414

You must really make sure that the nail polish is properly dried when you remove the sellotape.

IMGP0415

As a final step you put a coat of transparent nail polish so it looks nicer and it lasts longer.

wpid-img_20150818_155222.jpg

It’s so easy to do it that I’ve done my own nails and my mother’s at the same time (in this picture you can see how tiny my hands are) and it didn’t take me more than 10 minutes.

You can paint all your nails with watermelons or you can just do one nail in each hand and paint the rest of the nails in red or white.Β You can also change the colours of your water melon for example in this one I’ve used baby pink and fuchsia.

wpid-img_20150621_142826.jpg

Which combination do you like the most? Is there any Summer nail art you have been loving?

xoxo Darly

OTHER PLACES WHERE YOU CAN FOLLOW ME

TWITTER

BLOGLOVIN

INSTAGRAM

 

 

66 thoughts on “DIY watermelon nails

  1. This is so cute, i have already tried it although it completely failed haha!! i’m so bad at doing nails. i have followed your blog for quite a while and i love your taste in style. You used to follow me, however i have had to start it again due to a technical difficulty and was wondering if you would be kind enough to follow me again as unfortunately i had to lose all my followers. thanks xxx

    Like

  2. Pingback: AUTUMN NAILS + DIY NAIL ART TOOL | DARLY - LIFESTYLE BLOG

Leave a Reply

